Garden Trust

The Hestercombe Gardens Trust was established in 1996 to oversee the restoration of the gardens and to protect them for the future.

The Trust’s Objectives

The Trust’s charitable objective is: to reclaim, restore, preserve, enhance and develop for the education and benefit of the public, the landscape, gardens and buildings of heritage, horticultural or architectural interest associated with Hestercombe and in support of this objective, to undertake educational work and preserve and maintain archives and collections.


Mr Philip White (Chief Executive)


Patrons and Trustees

The Trustees of Hestercombe Gardens are:

  • Sir Andrew Burns KCMG (Chairman)
  • Mrs Jo Matthews
  • Mr Richard Excell
  • Cllr Marcia Hill
  • Cllr David Fothergill
  • Ms Pat Thomas OBE
  • Mr Godfrey Davis
  • Mr Huw Williams
  • Mr Adrian Humphreys
  • Mr Rupert Taylor
  • Josie Spencer, Lady Waley­-Cohen


The Patrons of Hestercombe Gardens are:

  • Lord Armstrong of Ilminster GCB CVO
  • Ralph Clark DL
  • The Hon Mrs Pease
  • The Lord Skelmersdale GCB CVO
  • Mrs J Brown
  • Lady Gass DCVO
  • Ms P Hobhouse MBE
  • The Lord Poltimore
  • Sir Roy Strong CH FRSL